Galaxy Television Menu

FIFA releases Puskas award nominees

FIFA releases Puskas award nominees

Long-range screamers, mazy solo runs and stunning acrobatic strikes, this year's Puskas Award has it all.

The prize is given by FIFA to the best goal of the year and this year's candidates include ever-present Lionel Messi, previous winner Zlatan Ibrahimovic and some lesser-known names such as Billie Simpson of Northern Ireland Premiership side Cliftonville Ladies.

Simpson is hoping to become the first female winner of the award -- named after legendary Hungarian star Ferenc Puskás -- along with Cameroon's Ajara Nchout and Amy Rodriguez of the Utah Royals.

The prize was first awarded in 2009 to Cristiano Ronaldo and since then, stars such as Neymar, James Rodriguez and last year's victor Mohamed Salah have gone on to win.

The public votes on the initial top 10, before a FIFA panel chooses a winner from the top three.

Public voting for the 2019 award closes on September 1.

Related Articles

The following 6 pages may interest you as well: