Galaxy Television Menu

Brazil 2014: Osaze, Yobo, Agbim Make Keshi’s List

Ahead of FIFA’s May 10 deadline for the submission of final list of players selected to represent their countries at next month’s World Cup in Brazil, the Nigeria Football Federation Tuesday released a provisional list of 30 Super Eagles players for the mundial.

The list comprised of four goalkeepers. They are Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim and Daniel Akpeyi.

The team’s defenders selected for the mundial are Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kenneth Omeruo, Joseph Yobo and Kunle Odunlami.
Osaze, Agbim and Yobo,

Also in the team are  John Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ramon Azeez, Ejike Uzoenyi Sunday Mba, Gabriel Reuben,  Nosa Igiebor, Joel Obi and Michael Uchebo. Others are Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Victor Moses, Emmanuel Emenike, Victor Nsofor, Osaze Odemwingie , Babatunde Michael,Uche Nwafor and Nnamdi Oduamadi.

The list which was read out by the Head Coach of the team Stephen Keshi was
released after he held a three-hour meeting with the NFF Technical Committee at the Glass House in Abuja.

He further stated that the final list of 23 players who would represent the nation in Brazil would be released on June 2.

Last Monday Keshi had insisted  that he was not arm-twisted by members of the Nigeria Football Federation to include or drop any player in the list.

He said he had a free hand from the NFF to select the best players for the World Cup, but he was not averse to taking advice from well-meaning Nigerians on squad composition.

According to him:, “The NFF is our parent body and should be concerned about team composition for the World Cup, because the body is made up of well-meaning Nigerians. But to be honest to Nigerians, nobody in the NFF has come to me to say pick player A or B. They respect my job as the head coach and I respect them as my employers and there is no clash of interest.”

Related Articles

The following 6 pages may interest you as well: