Galaxy Television Menu

Makinde Sends List of Commissioner-Nominees to Assembly

Makinde Sends List of Commissioner-Nominees to Assembly

There are indications that Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde has forwarded names of would-be commissioners to the state House of Assembly.

It would be recalled Makinde had sacked the 17 commissioners and the Chief of Staff, Chief Bisi Ilaka, on June 29, 2021.

A source in the Office of the Speaker informed our Correspondent that the list had been sent to the Assembly.

The source confirmed the receipt of the list but expressed doubt if such will be present at the plenary on Tuesday.

Another source who is close to the assembly said that the nominees are made up of seven of the previous 17 cabinets.

They are Siju Lawal (Establishment), Daud Sangodoyin (Works),  Oyelowo Oyewo (Justice), Akinola Ojo (Finance), Bayo  Lawal (Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters), Seun Ashamu (Energy) and Faosat Oni (Women Affairs and Social Inclusion).

It was gathered that they are going to retain their previous positions in the cabinet.

It is not clear when the Governor would send the names of the remaining nominees.

Related Articles

The following 6 pages may interest you as well: